Disney Fighter – Pocahontas

Definitely the hottest of Disney’s ladies in my opinion. 🙂

Next up in my Disney Fighter series is Pocahontas. In her new back story Pocahontas is an environmental activist and the descendant of a great Powhatan warrior, she enters the fighting tournament to literally fight for nature. This was a bit tricky to get right, spent a while just trying to get the right pose, eventually settling for this stance which i think works well. About 8-9 hours on this one, done in Painter.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in concept, Disney, Illustration, Street Fighter
16 comments on “Disney Fighter – Pocahontas
  1. mike mikerton says:

    wow! This is great! keep up the good work.

  2. Amy Lynn says:

    This one is an absolute beauty! I love the detail of frayed rips in her pants.

  3. batman_moumen_dark_knight says:

    I donno..as I mentioned on the Belle comment I was expecting Pocahontas to be in the Belle kickboxing outfit and pose you used.
    Not that I think this one is bad at all but I expected something different.

  4. josh says:

    Why would I do the same type of fighter twice?

  5. Hepburn says:

    This is great Josh! Love your hard work as always! 🙂

  6. batman_moumen_dark_knight says:

    Never suggested you would. I only said I had hoped that it was Pocahontas instead of Belle.

  7. Caitlin Sedoff says:

    wow my favorite so far. The eyes are more fitting with this “Fighter” than a few others such as Cinderella. I’m not sure what element contributes to this but your Pocahontas looks more accurate that the others. Very nice work.

  8. josh says:

    I think what it comes down to is that Pocahontas in her Disney form looks far more serious a character than the rest of the female leads. As I was trying to encapsulate similar looks and features in these images to the animated counterparts she does come across as far more serious in look and tone.

  9. dave says:

    These are all BRILLIANT concept art — one look has permanently affected how I see these characters. I’m partial to your Ariel especially, but all of them are wonderful. I can’t wait to show them to my daughter. (Also, you’ve designed the best Wonder Woman costume ever, as I’m sure, deep down, you know. 🙂 )

    Thanks sharing all this work, into which you’ve obviously put so much time and talent. I hope that, if you’re not now, someday you’ll get richly rewarded for it.

  10. Axel says:

    Loving this concept! Meeko in the belt is a cool detail…

  11. Tomurai says:

    Absolutely LOVE this concept. My only criticism of this one is that the shadowy effect around her legs kind of makes it look like her legs are trembling. Otherwise, these are all brilliant. I’d love to see what you’d do to Lilo!

  12. Chetta says:

    This is my favorite so far! I love Meeko on her belt! Can’t WAIT for Aurora!

  13. Maria João says:

    Hi!
    love your work! Im a big fan of Disney’s characters!

  14. Jenn says:

    It looks awesome. Are the designs based off of a real tribe’s?

  15. josh says:

    No, just looked at a lot of Native American designs and based it off those.

  16. Anonymous says:

    Looks great! only critique is that her torso doesn’t twist to meet her hips at the proper angle.

Leave a comment

Archives
Categoies