My support for The Dark Knight’s Oscar bid

All the way…..
oscars

What are the chances of The Dark Knight winning? Hard to say, but a nomination is thoroughly deserved.

This was from an older Oscar poster, didn’t really do much to it, just added some ears and did a bit of Joker scribble. This got featured on Dark Campaign.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Manips, Promotional
46 comments on “My support for The Dark Knight’s Oscar bid
  1. Nardz says:

    Thats genious…great poster!

  2. Rohit says:

    Awesome poster! Thats really a great effort for the cause. Dark Knight for the oscars!

  3. Mart' says:

    Weak.

  4. James NomadRip says:

    That is excellent!

  5. kilo says:

    Brilliant : )

  6. celebsip says:

    Ha ha ha! Loved the big smiley, and how you wrote “THOSE”. Super!
    -Des

  7. Evey says:

    I thought this was fantastic!
    Really clever, but so simple.

  8. Jeffrey Paul Louis Schiller says:

    That kicks ass. Hopefully TDK can win a few.

  9. bendoverlara says:

    nice poster,but even tough he did a great joker,his performance is not oscar worthy, TDK is too much overrated.

  10. Chcuk says:

    Superb!!

  11. Delta7 says:

    What an inspired piece, whether you like the film or not, this is expression of imagination…superb!

  12. jonathan bailer says:

    celebsip, the word they were trying to write was these, not “those”. IDIOT

  13. Jimmy McAwesome says:

    legit poster right there. All signs seem to be pointing to TDK getting a bid. The chances of it winning though I would say is 0%. I think Heath has a legit chance though, bendoverlara you are friggin insane

  14. Curtis says:

    I whole heartadley agree, this movie needs to be nominated. I fon’t care when it came out. Just because the movie didn’t come out in October doesn’t mean it shouldn’t be considered for Oscars.

  15. Noah says:

    I think The Dark Knight is phenomenally overrated (Heath Ledger aside) but that doesn’t change the fact that it is currently the frontrunner for the Oscars only matched by Slumdog Millionaire. The show is in danger of being considered irrelevant; the general public doesn’t give a damn about strange arthouse films like No Country or There Will Be Blood. They want their films to win. This will be like Lord of the Rings, honoring the film that both critics and audiences fell in love with.

  16. surfup says:

    awesome bro

  17. Shamik says:

    If critics and audiences BOTH fall in love with a film, doesnt that make it a great film, and thus oscar-worthy?

  18. Segway says:

    That poster sucks. You should be ashamed for trying to express yourself creatively in such a poor manner.

  19. subcorpus says:

    joker rulez … !!!

  20. Kevin says:

    That is pretty dope lol. The Dark Knight was an amazing film.

  21. Aditya Rao says:

    Forget the raves.!
    The posters cool.!
    🙂

  22. When Giants Meet says:

    Haha, well done!

  23. ntopics says:

    Wow! I really love The Dark Knight.
    You and I are on the same page.

    thanks from tony

  24. wheatbites says:

    I hope both the movie and Heath Ledger receive an oscar nomination. I know there is a lot of hype – but i think it is thoroughly deserved!

  25. LS says:

    If i could buy it i would

  26. rogerpoh says:

    Ledger would have won unless there’s a posthumous one.

  27. etbcoop says:

    I have no doubt it will be nominated. If the academy can give all 3 Lord of the Rings best picture nominations, with the last one winning, then The Dark Knight ( which is better in every way than those movies) deserves to be at least nominated.

    Chuck

  28. gailwin says:

    Love the poster! Ledger did a fantastic job with the Joker. During the movie I was constantly waiting for the next joker scene. He just played off the Jokers insanity well. A very unforgetable character for sure!

  29. talkaboutpentate says:

    i must have watched a different movie cause the one i saw was painfully predictable, touch and cheek cheesy, dark and dreary with over hyped violence.
    Oscars are brought and sold these days so it could happen, and god knows it would be a shame for Cadillac Records to win.
    i’d love to hear back in five years on this cause i think you will find this film will not stand the test of time.

  30. hackingthemachine says:

    I really am a fan of the Dark Knight but do think it was a little overrated. It may get a couple of Oscar nominations but if it wins anything will be a minor award category.

    The DVD comes out this Tuesday and can’t wait to buy it.

  31. Daniel's Critical Corner says:

    So very clever ! I want to see this movie
    sweep the Oscars !!!

  32. Ed says:

    NO WAY! This movie was WAY too long with no real plot line other than gangsters and explosions. And I am sorry, I don’t celebrate drug addicted artists who overdose, to do so is total BS and sends the wrong message. If he wins an Oscar for playing the Joker on drugs (literally) there is something severely wrong with Hollywood (even more than we know of already).

  33. samuel says:

    I rather support Incredible Hulk………..

  34. Rob says:

    you should win an Oscar for this poster! brilliant! pure genius!!

  35. Chris says:

    I would like to say that I thought your poster to be very creative and well done (stylistically)

    With regard to the Oscar situation, I have several things to say.
    1. Dark Knight deserves a nomination, whether it wins or not I cannot say (depends on the competition)
    2. Heath Ledger deserves an oscar. His performance was incredible. I don’t care that he “overdosed on drugs”….do we judge actors by what they do in their lives or what they do in the movie? I think Ed needs to learn more about Hollywood indeed. Ledger’s performance was absolutely spectacular.
    3. Comparing this to the Lord of the Rings movies is NOT a good idea. I don’t care whether you think Dark Knight was better than each one, the LotR trilogy deserved the oscars, just as I believe Dark Knight should.
    4. As a fan of Dark Knight myself, I can understand why some people think it was overrated. However, I do not think that that is a good reason to hate it. In all honesty, it was a great movie. It might have been a little longer than expected, but it was not dragging, predictable, or pointless. It was a very well made film which while being “dark” was so for a purpose, to put real fear into the audience, allowing Ledger’s character to make viewers tremble even more.

  36. zackyv says:

    Heath Ledger deserves best actor without question. One of the best movies ever made. RIP.

  37. secret law of attraction says:

    great poster. very genius…

    I am a fan of the Dark Knight tooo….

  38. Ed says:

    Hey Chris,
    You think I need to learn more about Hollywood? What are you implying exactly…. That everyone is on drugs so its okay? That deadly drug use is the norm and that we should get over it, and give everyone a free pass based strictly on their acting performance. I accept that you disagree with me… but you have the gall to say I need to learn more about Hollywood? Seriously what are you trying to imply? Drug use makes you a better actor? Chris needs to learn more about phrasing things in a non-insulting, drug promoting way.

  39. THEDARKKNIGHTLOVER says:

    very creative. I hope TDK gets an oscar so we know Heath ledger didn’t die in vain. May he R.I.P.

  40. Tatyana says:

    Great poster! I absolutely love it!
    As far as the Oscars go, I think TDK deserves one. While I do agree that it seemed a tad too long, it had a great story and cast–not to mention all of the psychological elements. I also agree with Chris. We shouldn’t judge an actor’s worth based on things that they did outside of their movie and, as far as I can tell, the role of the Joker was played amazingly. I’m not saying that drugs are good, acceptable, or anything (that’s completely off topic), but when you look at Ledger’s work within the frame of the film, I would definitely say that it is Oscar worthy.

  41. Matt says:

    To all you fuck-nuts bitching about not supporting ledger cuz of his death do the world a favor, dig a 3x6x6 hole, jump into it and then get someone to fill it. Ledger did not die of an overdose on a narcotic, he died becuase he had diffrent pills with diffrent chemicals inthem for various reasons. he got them from diffrent pharmasists. When he toke them, some of them reacted with eachother, and that killed him, it was a drug related death, but not intentional, nor was it an illegal narcotic. The poster supports THE DARK KNIGHT, not Heath Ledger, the big thing about TDK is the Joker, his scars, ect, its about the character not the actor, and honest to god, if you can think of something from TDK that would truly better represent the movie, let me know, and i’ll dig my hole next to yours.

  42. man says:

    very clever. i like it. posted it in my blog. thanks!

  43. Dousch says:

    Posted it on my blog too, with hopes for TDK oscars, wow this image is brilliant, and very, VERY professional made, yet simple, as said before. Thanks.

  44. RaiulBaztepo says:

    Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

  45. PiterKokoniz says:

    Hi ! 🙂
    My name is Piter Kokoniz. Just want to tell, that your posts are really interesting
    And want to ask you: is this blog your hobby?
    Sorry for my bad english:)
    Thank you!
    Your Piter Kokoniz, from Latvia

Leave a comment

Archives
Categoies