Kitana Portrait

I’ve recently been reading some awesome books by the great fantasy artists Boris Vallejo and Julie Bell, these book inspired me to try using Oils for the first time, needless to say this image of Kitana is nowhere near the level of what Vallejo and Bell can produce, I tried at best to copy the techniques both artists say they use in the books, I think I need a bit more practice before I reach their level. 🙂

kitana

The image referenced used is courtesy of http://tw1stedtruth-stock.deviantart.com/, probably about 13 hours of work, maybe more.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Illustration, Mortal Kombat
4 comments on “Kitana Portrait
  1. streetkid says:

    im guessing this could be the new Mortal Kombat movie reboot lol

  2. Brandan says:

    Their work must be AMAZING because this is superb work,especially for your first time.

  3. vampirehiccups says:

    Jeez, you’re good. How often do you practice/how many years have you been doing this?

  4. joshmc says:

    ^ I try to draw/paint at least a couple of times a week, granted I have the time, I actually spent a few years not drawing between 2001 and 2005 due to studies and work commitments, I was working in the printing industry where there’s not much call for any illustration, so I kinda just forgot about drawing for a while. Then one day I saw a book on comic art which triggered the desire to go back to doing actual illustration, it took me a while to get back into the grove of things, my first drawings in years looked absolutely awful🙂

Leave a Reply

Services

Personalised Illustration, Photo Manipulation & Graphic Design
If you want your own personalised Photo Manipulation, Movie Poster style illustration or just regular old graphic design work hit me up on Etsy and I'll help you out.

JMC Graphics on Etsy

Alternatively if you think I can be of service to you please feel free to hit me up on the email above.

To see my graphic design portfolio please visit www.joshmc.com

Follow me on Twitter
Archives
Categoies
