Character Design – Green Lantern

Well this has been in the works for some time, I could never quite get the suit design how I liked it but eventually I got to a stage where I was happy enough. I wanted to invoke as much as possible the traditional Hal Jordon Green Lantern design, but also took elements from various other Green Lantern characters. As Chris Pine was mentioned as a possible candidate the other week, it seemed fitting that he’d be the face of my suit design. Body stock courtesy of http://mjranum-stock.deviantart.com .

lantern_01_final

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Green Lantern, Manips
22 comments on “Character Design – Green Lantern
  1. Derrick says:

    Wow! I hope GL looks like that in the movie next year 😀 ’cause that is awesome

  2. jonnwolfe says:

    Awesome! 🙂

  3. Lewis-Paul says:

    Nice job mate, came out really well.

  4. Brandan says:

    I can only hope the movie does something similar!

  5. Ellington says:

    Nice! It would be rather nifty if you could do a group one of Hal, John and Kyle! Yes I left out Guy, I cannot abide him!
    It would be a lot of work but it would be stellar! : )

  6. streetkid says:

    nice design but i do feel u should of gave him a glove on his hands

  7. rainingcrow says:

    top half looks great.

    mask is a lil wonky but honestly those style masks are such a pain to work around that they seem virtually impossible without an almost physical modl to move accordingly. So kudos for gettin it pretty darn good.

    the green looks good on the costume but I would be curious how his ring glow would translate in accordance with it…

    as for the bottom half… personally I would like to see hals costume influenced a bit by a flight suit in some way… perhaps some different boot styles

    anyway… the bottom could use some work, and the color scheme is a curiosity. but Its good work

    I do so hope that captain kirk dosent become hal though… I’m a little more towards the boreanaz, fillion, browder suporting side… 😉

  8. Matt says:

    The only major quibble I have with it is that he needs full gloves.

  9. Tom says:

    First, you need to put white element somewhere on it. Second, eliminate the gold or any other colors than green, black / dark gray / white combinations.

    Nuff said …

  10. Tom says:

    And yeah, he does need full gloves!

  11. michael says:

    as great as this design is unfortunately ryan reynolds is playing him and dont get me wrong ryan reynolds is one of my favorite actors but i see him as the flash

  12. Mod Kevin says:

    Now that Ryan Reynolds is cast as GL, are you going to do one like this with him? I’d like to see that.

  13. michael says:

    but ryan reynolds is better choice then bradley cooper and justin timberlake

  14. The Man of Steel says:

    Perfect. This is *exactly* what I feel the Green Lantern outfit should look on the big screen. However, I do think that the costume would look even better with the addition of black gloves. White gloves added onto this particular costume would look out of place, but black gloves would both give the costume a more completed look and match the established color scheme. But gloves or not, this costume is perfect. Good work.

  15. Marcos says:

    I hope they don’t get that for the movie … It looks like a serie B suit movie … There is no White gloves … no white boots … The mask looks like a joke for a 3 year old kid …

    And looks pretty much like a biker suit … If

    Another bloody design that takes the same approach of the old batman and flash suits … horrible …

    Amazing photoshop work … but the design is tasteless …

  16. JT says:

    Amazing work! This last comment is pretentious. I know how long it takes to make this kind of fan art. Just to let you know, i’m using this photo as a foundation for my new Halloween costume, Its getting made by the lady who does costumes for big blockbuster films like, Event Horizon. I love this version of the GL. Kudos!

  17. tayln says:

    excellent work (and a better design than the suit in the film)!

  18. zentai says:

    hey,but I do not think the green lantern costume is from the movie?

  19. rj5491 says:

    How did you make this? What was your base?

  20. josh says:

    I can’t remember actually, lol.

  21. rj5491 says:

    Okay. I was just asking because I’m a graphic artist myself.

  22. josh says:

    In general I use a base image and then just add bits and pieces of photography in photoshop then stitch it altogether as best I can.

Leave a comment

Archives
Categoies