Disney Fighter – Cinderella

So things have been a bit quiet lately due to a number of things, actual paying jobs have been taking precedent and all the concepts and designs I’ve worked on for this site haven’t been turning out the way I’d hoped. So after taking a break for a little bit and recharging the batteries I started looking for new ideas, and my answer came with playing ridiculous amounts of Street Fighter 4 on my iPod (which is an awesome game app I might add!). The idea came to me to try the idea of combining mediums, and having been reading a lot of books on Disney animation and principles lately something in my mind went ‘What would you get if you cross Street Fighter with Disney?’. The answer is a new series I’m starting called ‘Disney Fighter’, in which I’m gonna Street Fighter-ise a bunch of characters from the house of mouse.

First up, Cinderella. This was a lot of fun to do coz it gave me an excuse to redo her backstory to turn her into a ninja warrior. I looked at all the promo artwork for Street Fighter 4 and tried to emulate the style of the illustrations whilst also trying to keep the look of the Disney character. I’ve never really tried doing Manga style artwork before so this was a bit challenging at first but I think it’s not too bad for a first effort. Done in Painter and Photoshop in about 6-7 hours. If anyone has any particular Disney characters they’d like to see Street Fighter-ise put your suggestions in the comments.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Disney, Illustration, Street Fighter
9 comments on “Disney Fighter – Cinderella
  1. Hepburn says:

    I know that this is Disney’s Cinderella done a la Street Fighter, and it is a great job, but it brings to my mind “Fables” Cinderella who is a spy and a hand to hand combat expert!🙂
    LOVE IT!

  2. Simon Bergeron says:

    This first taste packs quite a (no pun intended) punch.

    Makes me think about what went wrong when Prince Charming woke her up with his “magical kiss”🙂

    Nevertheless, great colors, nice pose and overall design fort his character.

    Can’t wait to see the next ones…

  3. rcknrllninja says:

    Amazing. Came here because I saw your Snow White on slashfilm. I’m a huge fan of Renaissance Disney fan art and this is amazing.

    I’m curious to see what you choose to do with Ariel and Belle.

  4. joshmc says:

    I’m currently working on Ariel as I type this, and I’ve got a cracking idea for Belle.🙂

  5. Hepburn says:

    I also hope that you will do the newest Disney Princess Tiana from the Princess and the Frog! Diversity is a good thing.🙂

  6. Caitlin Sedoff says:

    ok dude, your awesome, but now you got to do Belle, Sleeping Beauty, and Jasmine. good luck

  7. josh says:

    Doing all three.🙂

  8. Caitlin Sedoff says:

    Oh! I forgot to add Repunzel!

  9. Neville Ross says:

    I’d like to see:

    -Kim Possible

    -Mulan

    -Shego (Kim Possible)

    -Betty Director (Kim Possible)

    -Yori (Kim Possible)

    -Bonnie Rockwaller (Kim Possible)

    -Kida (Atlantis)

    -Quorra (Tron Legacy)

    -Rapunzel (Tangled)

    -Demona (Gargoyles)

    -Mrs. Incredible, aka Elastigirl/Helen Parr (The Incredibles

    -Violet Parr (The Incredibles)

    Elisa Mazza (Gargoyles)

    Mirage (The Incredibles)

Leave a Reply

Services

Personalised Illustration, Photo Manipulation & Graphic Design
If you want your own personalised Photo Manipulation, Movie Poster style illustration or just regular old graphic design work hit me up on Etsy and I'll help you out.

JMC Graphics on Etsy

Alternatively if you think I can be of service to you please feel free to hit me up on the email above.

To see my graphic design portfolio please visit www.joshmc.com

Follow me on Twitter
Archives
Categoies
