Rapunzel Promotional material.

This one’s especially for all the Disney geeks. The title of Disney’s latest movie ‘Tangled’ annoys the living crap out of me, and I know it annoys other people to, and the logic use by the folks at the House of Mouse for the change was freaking absurd. Like who are they trying to fool? Just call it what it is – Rapunzel. Plus it just looks out of place, I don’t recall the ‘Tangled’ fairy tale when I was a kid. In my frustration I took to the promotional posters and manipulated them to read what it should have been called, so to everyone else who equally hates the title feel free to use these for yourself, they’re pretty good quality. Hit the link to download the posters. Enjoy!

Nerdish rant over.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Disney, Manipulation, Promotional
11 comments on “Rapunzel Promotional material.
  1. Ellington says:

    Yes! I know what you mean and meant! When I first heard about a movie called “Tangled” I had no clue what so ever what it was to be about. It should have been called like the fairy tale it is supposed to be based on…Rapunzel.
    I like the name change that you did!🙂

  2. JKKS says:

    In France the movie is titled Raiponce wich is basically Rapunzel translated in french.
    Tangled is just a joke.

  3. joshmc says:

    I probably wouldn’t have an issue with the title if it was integral to the story, but it isn’t. You look at all the trailers too, it’s almost as if Disney were trying everything to avoid making it about Rapunzel. Like who are they trying to fool? Just call it what it is!

  4. BGR says:

    Thank you so much, I’m also annoyed by this whole “Tangled” mess. Have you guys seen the movie? Is it very Teh Little Mermaid or more like Shrek? Thank you for these posters again, may put up some in my room, they’re pretty big! (Hope they were bigger tho!)

    much love!

  5. joshmc says:

    Yeah I’ve seen the film, it’s quite good, I wouldn’t rank it as high as Beauty and the Beast or Lion King, it’s probably more around the Pocahontas level, it’s good and fun overall and worth seeing.

  6. BGR says:

    I saw it last weekend (I live in Spain and it came out last week) and at first I really didn’t like it, like at all. I thought it could’ve been so much better. But, even though I still feel like this is not great Disney, it kinda has grown on me over the last few days. Still I’m thankful that the whole Shrek image they were trying to convey with some of these posters isn’t actually in the movie.

    Now all we need is a wonderful DVD cover with the Rapunzel title on it, one that doesn’t look like Shrek! (hint) LOL!

  7. Taylor says:

    I’m a Disney Cast Member, and I personally love the title and everything about the movie. It’s fun, it’s different, and they really do get themselves tangled into a huge mess. This stoey isn’t just about some girl in a tower who’s waiting for her prince to yell to her to let down her hair – which is what Rapunzel is. This movie is about a friggin’ kick-ass princess who’s been grounded forever who just wants to get out and see the world, and ends up getting tangled up with the wrong person and into a heap of trouble. Disney wanted to go with something a bit different, stray from the usual princesses. “The Princess and the Frog” isn’t the same name as the original story either, but do you see anyone giving two shits? Not really, because it’s not just about the frog. It’s about the princess. That’s the idea here, switching it up to make the title work for them. Plus, Tangled is a cool name. It got me super excited when I wasn’t seeing “Rapunzel” everywhere in the park, but seeing a refreshing take on a classic fairytale with a fun twist. Don’t get your knickers in a bunch.

  8. josh says:

    It’s Rapunzel, let’s not fool anyone, just call it what it is and be done with it.

  9. Emerald says:

    Nostalgia Chick has a whole video entry on how Disney adopted Dreamworks marketing strategy for “Tangled,” that’s why it’s somewhat confusing to us. The posters convey a “Shrek”-like quality to the film’s tone, but from what I hear, the movie is everything but. Dreamworks’ marketing proved to be very effective in the past for their films, and as their main competitor I’m not surprised that Disney took this route.

  10. Rebecca Koo says:

    Hey I’m from Malaysia and the film is actually called Rapunzel here in Asia!! And the promo pics looks somewhat similar like the ones you made! Especially the title!! Good job on your works!

  11. Sustain the excellent job !! Lovin’ it!

Leave a Reply

Services

Personalised Illustration, Photo Manipulation & Graphic Design
If you want your own personalised Photo Manipulation, Movie Poster style illustration or just regular old graphic design work hit me up on Etsy and I'll help you out.

JMC Graphics on Etsy

Alternatively if you think I can be of service to you please feel free to hit me up on the email above.

To see my graphic design portfolio please visit www.joshmc.com

Follow me on Twitter
Archives
Categoies
