TMNT Concept

Was messing around during my lunch breaks at work and came up with this concept in Photoshop, took it home, finished it off in Painter. I’ve always found it odd there’s never been an incarnation of the Ninja Turtles that actually makes them look like turtles, so here’s my attempt of their fearless leader more turtle like. About 2-3 hours here, I’m thinking of a photo manipulation along the same lines now, so what do you think folks? Anyone interested in see something like this as a manip? Let me know!

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in concept, Illustration
19 comments on “TMNT Concept
  1. Simon Bergeron says:

    Honestly, this would get the Turtles back into their original designs, wayyy back in 1984, when the words “pizza time” and “cawabunga” had yet to be introduced to the then very adult franchise… of course the movies and the TV series changed all that.

    So I would say in short, hell yeah, a photo manip would completely rock. I would pay good money to see a movie about THESE kind of turtles.

  2. The Man of Steel says:

    Oh yes, definitely!

  3. Michael says:

    Yes but dont use a real turtle use a cgi head

  4. joshmc says:

    I don’t have access to 3D software so I’ve got no option but to use a real turtle. Besides it will look better using actual photos.

  5. Mike says:

    I would love to see this.

  6. Michael says:

    true

  7. JPmuftak says:

    I love the idea.
    There are SO many different types/species of turtles – I think the ones used for the original idea were “Slider” turtles.
    petturtle.com/slider_turtles.htm

  8. joshmc says:

    ^ I’m actually thinking of using four completely different species of turtle, maybe species that sort of match each characters personality.

  9. JPmuftak says:

    Good call.

  10. Michael says:

    so like a snapping turtle for raph

  11. Danyl says:

    Would love to see this as a manip! Get on it!πŸ˜›

  12. CT says:

    Looks amazing! One of the best TMNT concepts I have seen in a long time!

  13. Amy Lynn says:

    Oh man, that’s kind of badass! I dig the idea of a real turtle’s head on it.πŸ™‚

  14. Steve says:

    WoW…just wow….

    Man if i could get your permission to sculpt this at 1/4 scale i’d be sooooooo damn stoked…

    It has so much detail and character its just beging to be sculpted!

  15. joshmc says:

    Knock yourself out Steve.πŸ™‚

  16. SpiderByte says:

    MAAAAAAAAAAAAAKE ITTTTTTT!

    Yes, it’s me.

  17. Wilv says:

    I LOVE it. I grew up w/ the TMNT and I’d love to see more of thisπŸ˜€

  18. rainingcrow says:

    I have some recent manip work in a similar vein over on my DA page if you’re interested

    http://rainingcrow.deviantart.com/art/live-tmnt-concept-198534824

  19. rainingcrow says:

    btw Its cool to see someone shares the idea of using separate species for the turtles. Youre the first other artist I’ve heard that from.

Leave a Reply

Services

Personalised Illustration, Photo Manipulation & Graphic Design
If you want your own personalised Photo Manipulation, Movie Poster style illustration or just regular old graphic design work hit me up on Etsy and I'll help you out.

JMC Graphics on Etsy

Alternatively if you think I can be of service to you please feel free to hit me up on the email above.

To see my graphic design portfolio please visit www.joshmc.com

Follow me on Twitter
Archives
Categoies
