Man of Steel Supergirl Concept

Hello all!  Long time since the last artwork I know, been super busy as of late but I’ve finally managed to come up with a brand new manip.  Some of you may remember I got commissioned to do a female Superman artwork last year, however that was just an adaptation of the Man of Steel costume. I’ve actually been wanting to do a proper updated Man of Steel Supergirl concept for a while now, one that isn’t just a feminised version of the Superman costume but rather has it’s own design unique to her side of the family.   Inspirations were taken from the classic Supergirl costume as well as the New 52 costume .
I went with Chloe Moretz as the model who is about the same age and height as the character even if she is a bit of an obvious choice, but she’s a pretty good actress from what I’ve seen. Overall about 11 hours of work.  Quite happy with the end result.

supergirl_mos_final

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in concept, Man of Steel, manip, Movie Still, Supergirl
13 comments on “Man of Steel Supergirl Concept
  1. Hepburn3 says:

    Wow Josh! This is just STELLAR! Chloe M is a perfect choice for Kara and your costume design is beautiful, it is age appropriate, she could actually fight in this and you did not overtly sexualize SG, she is feminine,powerful and Kryptonian!. I love this!
    Great work, you always get better with each design!

  2. josh says:

    Thanks!

  3. jwrodriguez says:

    I’m with you on the look of this as well as the choice for Kara. It would be a rather funny irony that Chloe-Grace Moretz goes from Hit-Girl to Supergirl. And I do like the design that you’ve done for Kara. It just seems right.

  4. Anonymous says:

    This is fucking Amazing!

  5. Robathon says:

    There’s nothing positive I can say that hasn’t been said already! Great work. However, there is a small criticism I can provide. On her right leg (our left) is that a knee above the boot? If not, that creasing is strange enough to make the leg look deformed.

  6. Neville Ross says:

    Amazing pic and concept, but I wonder if Chloe’s tired of this kind of thing and want to do something else instead. If so, then I’d suggest that Elle Fanning play Kara Zor-El/Linda/Supergirl, or a newcomer chosen by an open call.

  7. This is amazing. This is the girl that played Carrie white in Carrie.

  8. Brian says:

    I love this image you made but I’m curious why you went this way with the uniform? Not that it’s a bad look or anything, I’m just wondering the need for it to be a “skirt” instead of the one piece suit from the Man of Steel movie that Superman wore if indeed you were going for the “female” version of Superman. I mean the Faora-Ul character had the one piece suit so I figured that’d be the best way to go about a Supergirl uniform.

  9. josh says:

    I wasn’t going for a female Superman, I was going for Supergirl. Supergirl has traditionally worn a skirt.

  10. rina35 says:

    What art program do you use? This is amazing

  11. josh says:

    Photoshop.

  12. Jo says:

    This is just brilliant. Love the work!! 2 thumbs up!!

Leave a Reply

Services
Ever wanted to see yourself as your favourite pop culture character? Want to turn a friend into a superhero for a really unique birthday gift? Maybe you just want some non comic or movie related artwork done. Illustrations, Manipulations, Logo Designs, Typography - if you think I can be of service to you please feel free to hit me up on the email below.

To see my larger portfolio please visit www.joshmc.com
Follow me on Twitter
Online at:
Archives
Categoies
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

