Breaking Bad Poster Contest Entry

A few weeks back a friend sent me a link to a Breaking Bad season 5 poster contest for a local retailer in celebration of the upcoming Bluray/DVD release of the series finale.  Being a big Breaking Bad fan I was never going to miss this chance!   The brief was pretty simple – create a poster with the images supplied.   However, instead of doing something that’s been clearly Photoshopped to hell I decided to draw a Drew Struzan inspired poster, something I’ve tried several times with mixed results.  I’ve admired his movie poster artwork and design style for years, I even watch some video of him working to get an idea of how he goes about creating his work.  In the end though I realised he works differently to me so I just did a Struzen-esque poster in my own style, and for the most part I’m pleased with the results.   Probably about 20 hours work.  I’ll let you know how I fair in the contest. :)

UPDATE: Sadly I didn’t win the Breaking Bad Poster contest, I was however one of the 10 finalists and so won a runners up prize of the Breaking Bad Blu-Ray boxset.  :) There were some seriously good entries that made the final round so it was always going to be hard to win, but a top 10 finish isn’t too bad a result in my book, it’s the first time in many, many years I can remember winning anything, so I’m not complaining.   Check out the finalists and winning design at breakingbadposter.com.au.

 

breaking_bad_final_small

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Breaking Bad, Illustration, Promotional, TV
4 comments on “Breaking Bad Poster Contest Entry
  1. brian says:

    Cool poster! I love Breaking Bad. Here’s hoping you win that contest. Also I would love to see you do some more Superhero stuff. Ever think of tackling Hawkgirl?

  2. josh says:

    I’ve got some superhero stuff lined up, something a little unexpected I believe. I haven’t given up on the superhero content, it’s just I’m trying to expand my work beyond those borders. I’ve actually done Hawkgirl in the past but do do plan to do a revamped version in the near future.

  3. Hepburn3 says:

    Nicely done Josh!
    I really like it and I hope that you win! : )

  4. Count Dooku says:

    You should do Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman, now that she’s cast

Leave a Reply

Services
Ever wanted to see yourself as your favourite pop culture character? Want to turn a friend into a superhero for a really unique birthday gift? Maybe you just want some non comic or movie related artwork done. Illustrations, Manipulations, Logo Designs, Typography - if you think I can be of service to you please feel free to hit me up on the email below.

To see my larger portfolio please visit www.joshmc.com
Follow me on Twitter
Online at:
Archives
Categoies
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

