Donkey Kong Illustration

So a while back I got asked if I’d like to submit an illustration piece for a Brazilian magazine, a very surprising offer and one I didn’t want to pass over.  The brief was simple, create a piece based off a Nintendo game.  The usual stuff like Mortal Kombat and Street Fighter came to mind but I wanted to do something beyond the fighting game arena. After much internal debate I settled on game I use to love growing up as the foundations of the artwork – Donkey Kong Country.  But instead of just doing an illustration based off the games design I decided to give the character a realistic twist, I wanted to find a balance between the games look and the look of a real life gorilla.  I really struggled with this for ages and almost threw it away on more than one occasion, but eventually I pushed through the pain and got to the finish line.  I’m not 100% happy with it, but I’m still ok with the final product.

dk_final_colour

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Gaming, Illustration
One comment on “Donkey Kong Illustration
  1. Hepburn3 says:

    I like it! it has a sense of the real and a good sense of humour!
    Nice work Josh! : )

Leave a Reply

Services
Ever wanted to see yourself as your favourite pop culture character? Want to turn a friend into a superhero for a really unique birthday gift? Maybe you just want some non comic or movie related artwork done. Illustrations, Manipulations, Logo Designs, Typography - if you think I can be of service to you please feel free to hit me up on the email below.

To see my larger portfolio please visit www.joshmc.com
Follow me on Twitter
Online at:
Archives
Categoies
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

