Disney Fighter – Rapunzel

10th and final fighter.

Rapunzel’s new back story is that she’s an imprisoned sorceress who manages to escape her solitary confinement. I’m much happier with this one compared to the last one, in fact I think I might go back and fix Mulan coz I wasn’t in the right mood when designing that one. I desperately wanted to find a way to add her frying pan but numerous attempts failed to find a solution. After several revisions this was about 8-9 hours work in Painter.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in concept, Disney, Illustration, Street Fighter
9 comments on “Disney Fighter – Rapunzel
  1. Hepburn says:

    Great work as always Josh! : )
    You should be very proud of your Princess Warrior series! : )

  2. Simon Bergeron says:

    I tend to agree with you on this Josh. Rapunzel is an awesome artwork, but I thought Mulan seemed a bit stiff and inactive in her pose. Nevertheless, this final fighter makes me want to buy a game that would star these Disney beauties… if only Disney had the… balls.

  3. josh says:

    Yeah, I think I’m gonna redo Mulan, I wasn’t in the right mindset when designing her.

  4. zhion says:

    I’d love to see Rapunzel with some “Andromeda Shun” braids on her hair, but the art looks great, as usual. ;)

  5. Simon Bergeron says:

    You’re so right, one has to be in the right mindset. I illustrate from time to time and when I’m not in the mood, the results speak from themselves and usually, people can spot it a mile away.

    I wish you great inspiration and the absolute pride once you come up with your second design of Mulan.

  6. Amy Lynn says:

    Rapunzel here is pretty badass. :)

  7. I found these images on http://fantasymedieval.blogspot.com/2012/01/disney-princess-street-fighter.html when googling Disney Princess Street Fighters for an article a writer wrote about a Disney Princess Battle Royale for the 3rd annual Fairy Tale Fortnight event. I included your images and gave you credit every time. Everyone thinks you did a great job! Thank you for your wonderful creations. My personal favorite is Mulan :)
    http://abackwardsstory.blogspot.com/2013/03/battle-royale-why-princess-jasmine-will-clean-up-in-a-fairy-tale-fight.html

  8. These are awesome! It’d totally buy this game.

    Is it too late to ask for Meg or some of the badguys?

  9. josh says:

    The series is done I’m afraid. I am thinking of revisiting it in the future but in a different way.

Leave a Reply

Services
Ever wanted to see yourself as your favourite pop culture character? Want to turn a friend into a superhero for a really unique birthday gift? Maybe you just want some non comic or movie related artwork done. Illustrations, Manipulations, Logo Designs, Typography - if you think I can be of service to you please feel free to hit me up on the email below.

To see my larger portfolio please visit www.joshmc.com
Follow me on Twitter
Online at:
Archives
Categoies
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 141 other followers

