When Artwork Goes Bad

Yes, we all make bloopers. We all make choices that make us go ‘WTF?’. I’m guilty of it as much as anyone. Sometimes, things just don’t work out. Way I look at it, you can do one of two things, either continue and try and resuscitate the dieing artwork, or simply start from scratch. Here are a couple of abandoned concepts that just never worked.

WW concept – turned into a different concept
ww_film_reject

Chun Li illustration – Pose wasn’t working for me, will start from scratch.
chun_li_reject

Magdalena Manip – Design was heading in the right direction, but wasn’t happy with the pose, will be doing this one again.
magdalena_reject

Harley Quinn movie still – pose was never quite right, started from scratch.
harley_quinn_reject

Riddler Teaser Concept 1 – too greenish all round.
riddler_reject

Cheetah concept – Was never quite happy with how it was going, may come back to it at a later date.
cheetah_reject

Poison Ivy Concept – I have absolutely no idea WTF I was thinking here. This was a very old concept, I’ll put it down to being young and foolish.
poison_ivy_reject

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in concept, Illustration, Manips
7 comments on “When Artwork Goes Bad
  1. batboy99 says:

    The Magdelena one is amazing!

  2. Arthur says:

    Hey dude, i really like your artworks (sometimes, even when they go bad), they’re absolutely AMAZING!!! I was wondering if you could do a drawing or something of Raven (from dc’s TITANS)?!? What you think??

  3. joshmc says:

    I don’t take request unfortunately as I don’t have the time, but I appreciate the suggestion and will take it into consideration as a possible future project.

  4. michael says:

    Magdalena one is so sick! You must do another pronto!

  5. Eddie Nashton says:

    I noticed you finished the Magdalena manip. I’d love to see your finished take on Poison Ivy, even if it looks different from what you have above.

  6. Proma says:

    I love this website! Thanks for Magdalena – you are my inspiration for my Halloween costume this year!

  7. Magdalena’s custome might be perfect for Harley Quinn (wih some modifications, of course)

Leave a Reply

Services
Ever wanted to see yourself as your favourite pop culture character? Want to turn a friend into a superhero for a really unique birthday gift? Maybe you just want some non comic or movie related artwork done. Illustrations, Manipulations, Logo Designs, Typography - if you think I can be of service to you please feel free to hit me up on the email below.

To see my larger portfolio please visit www.joshmc.com
Follow me on Twitter
Online at:
Archives
Categoies
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

